Small Grant Award

The Foundation’s Small Grant Awards are offered twice annually for amounts of up to  £10,000. These small awards support the development of maritime archaeology with respect to:

The Foundation primarily supports Regional Research into maritime archaeology undertaken in the countries where Honor Frost worked. Broadly, this is the eastern Mediterranean, specifically Cyprus, Lebanon, Syria and also Egypt including the Red Sea. The Foundation gives preference to projects showing strong collaborations with regional partners, particularly those with local training opportunities.    

The Foundation offers support in the following areas/activities relating to developing maritime archaeology and the protection of underwater cultural heritage in the region:

  • training and workshops,
  • publications,
  • conferences with a regional involvement,
  • conservation work,
  • museum exhibitions,
  • public engagement and education

The Foundation is also interested in developing the discipline and the scope of maritime archaeology and underwater cultural heritage beyond the region. It considers applications that support the development of new technologies and/or methodologies on a global scale, and in exceptional cases research projects that were aligned with Honor Frost’s research interests beyond the immediate regional scope.   

Grants are available to independent scholars, affiliated scholars and institutions.

Individual grants will not normally exceed £10,000, which could be the total direct costs of the work, a contribution to a larger project, or costs to seed a pilot study. Small Grant Awards only support direct costs but in the case of institutional applications overheads may be considered.

Funding is available twice a year with grant applications due on 1st April and 1st October annually.

Awards are normally announced within four months of the deadlines.

The Foundation has funds to support a limited number of applications in each funding cycle, only awarded to those applications deemed by the trustees to be of the highest standard. Repeat funding is considered for outstanding projects. However, unless there are exceptional circumstances, repeat funding will only apply for up to a maximum of three years.

Scroll to Top